Skip to Content

How To Unmatch On Facebook Dating

Facebook’s new mobile dating app is just like other popular dating apps. Unfortunately, there may be an instance when you may need to unmatch someone that you’ve connected with. There are certain steps to unmatch someone on Facebook Dating.

In order to unmatch someone on Facebook Dating, tap the shield icon in the corner of the chat, and select “delete conversation”. This will completely remove the person from your chat queue.

In this article, we’re going to show you step by step how to unmatch on Facebook Dating.

Unmatch On Facebook Dating

Facebook Dating is a new style of dating apps that rivals other apps like Bumble and Hinge. Facebook leverages its powerful social platform to help other users find love.

Facebook pairs you with other users who are not your friends, so this way you have a fresh perspective on new people. Each user that is presented to you, you’ll also be able to see what mutual friends you have.

Unfortunately, even though you may have mutual friends you may find a match that’s not compatible with you. This could be for a number of reasons.

If you no longer want to stay matched with the person you’ve connected with, these are the steps you’ll need to follow.

First, click on the person’s profile to bring up the chat. In the top right corner, there’s a shield icon.

facebook dating safety and support

Once the shield icon is clicked, it will bring up a safety and support menu. The safety and support menu will allow you to do a few different options to disconnect and unmatch from the user.

Safety And Support

Facebook has created a safety and support icon that can be located in the top right corner of any chat window. The safety and support feature is important because it allows users who feel uncomfortable to take action.

In this instance, the three available options to unmatch a user are to delete the conversation, block the user, or report the conversation to Facebook Dating.

facebook dating safety and support

In order to safely unmatch someone, there are certain steps we recommend you take to properly remove a user on Facebook Dating.

We’re going to show you how to remove a user from your match queue and how to unmatch users properly.

Delete The Conversation

The first way to remove the user completely is to delete the conversation. As you notice, the delete conversation button is highlighted in red.

This will completely remove the conversation and unmatch you from the other user. It’s important to note that once you remove this person and delete the conversation, there’s no way to get it back.

facebook dating delete this conversation

Users will officially be disconnected and you will no longer be able to talk with this person anymore. We recommend making 100% sure that you are ready to disconnect and leave this person forever.

Remember, if you have mutual friends with this person, make sure not to ghost them, and to let them know why you’re disconnecting.

Block The Person

If you’re not looking to delete the conversation, simply blocking the other person is another way to remove them from your profile.

We recommend blocking someone if they are inappropriate or they’re making your online dating life stressful. This may be through constant texts and harassing messages.

facebook dating block a user

We recommend blocking someone if they are inappropriate or they’re making your online dating life stressful. This may be through constant texts and harassing messages.

If you begin to feel overwhelmed, we recommend blocking the person to stop receiving messages from them.

Make sure you are completely sure about blocking the person that you’re connected with, as it may leave them in a confused state if you block them randomly.

Report The Conversation

If the conversation does go south, and you feel uncomfortable with how the guy or girl is expressing themselves on Facebook Dating, we recommend using the Report the conversation button.

facebook dating report the conversation

Using the report the conversation button will allow you to choose options or enter your own information about why you’re reporting the conversation.

The conversation will be reported to Facebook, which will then be reviewed and possible action may take place. We recommend you block or delete the conversation of the user for an instant disconnect rather than waiting out the process.

Conclusion

In order to unmatch with a user on Facebook Dating, click the shield icon that’s in the top right corner. From here, click the delete this conversation button which will remove the conversation from your chat queue.

Alternatively, users are able to block the person, as well as report the conversation to Facebook for it to be reviewed.

Disconnecting with the user is the easiest way to stop talking to someone without any confrontation.

Before you disconnect, if you have 1 or 2 mutual friends, be sure to keep a note of what that person said to you, before you unmatch them. This will be valuable if there are any awkward encounters with those mutual friends that you may have.

Facebook Dating is a great way to match with people, and unfortunately, unmatching others is part of the dating game.

Where Do I Find Facebook Dating? Full Tutorial With Pictures
← Previous
Why Does Hinge Limit Likes?
Next →
No Luck On Tinder?