Skip to Content

Why Does Tinder Chat Disappear?

Tinder chats will be live when a user signs on and may seem like they mysteriously disappear when the user logs back on.

Tinder chats disappear because the user either deletes you from their match queue, deletes the app, or accidentally unmatched them.

We will break down why Tinder chats seem to disappear and what may be happening with your mobile dating app. Let’s learn more.

Do Tinder Chats Disappear?

Unlink mobile apps like Bumble give the user a 24-hour window to respond to the match before it disappears; Tinder matches will remain matched until the user engages with the chat.

Once a user is matched with another user, a user will see an “It’s a Match” screen (as shown below), which will signify that they have a match.

From here, the window is wide open for the user to message their match. Once this screen is engaged, there is no time limit for one user to match another. Their picture will sit in the match queue until one user initiates a conversation with the other.

Tinder chats do not disappear. However, there are a few reasons why the person you connected with may not be available to talk to anymore.

Check out our complete Tinder User Guide here.

They’ve Unmatched With You

It’s a hard pill to swallow, but more often than not, the reason you do not see the match that you were talking to is that they’ve unmatched you.

In our experiences, no matter how well you thought everything was going, there’s a good chance the person on the other end isn’t feeling it anymore or has found another match they’re interested in. This will often result in the user unmatching you and instantly deleting all the chat history.

This is a common scenario on Tinder, as so many users come and go that a user may feel like they need someone new to talk to, thus deleting you from their messages. Our best advice is to continue with your Tinder journey and not worry about the girl or guy who deletes you.

You’ve Accidentally Unmatched Them

This may happen if you’re careless with your fingers when on Tinder. It may also happen if you go on tinder when you’re drunk.

You may unmatch with someone by simply swiping to the left over the person’s name, and an option to unmatch will appear. This, as mentioned, could be done accidentally, especially if you’re clearing out old messages.

Also, if you go to the top right of any chat, there’s an option to unmatch there. We always err on the side of caution when deciding if you want to unmatch and delete someone.

Pro Tip: My best friend met her husband on eHarmony after getting frustrated with Tinder. Start for free on eHarmony by clicking here.

What Happens When I Unmatch A User?

If you unmatch a user, the other side won’t get a notification or any message that you’ve deleted them. They will not appear in your feed anymore, and you will disappear from theirs.

It’s important to keep all the conversation on Tinder and don’t give out any social media until you’re fully able to commit to that person and at least meet 1-2 times.

We say this because if you delete a match and want to not talk to that person, then having your contact information could turn into a nightmare.

We’ve heard stories that both guys and girls will continue to contact people even after unmatched them. To prevent this, keep all conversations on Tinder and be transparent with the other person that you want to keep all conversations on the platform until you’re ready to move forward.

This will save you from many headaches shortly.

Will The User Know If I’ve Unmatched Them On Tinder?

The answer is no. The other side will not get a notification, email, or any sort of indication that you’ve unmatched them.

We do recommend, however, that you be as transparent as possible when disconnecting with someone. “Ghosting,” or just leaving someone in the dust without giving them a warning, is one of the worst feelings users can feel when online dating.

We always advise being as transparent as possible with the other users, whether you’re interested or not at all. Don’t just delete the user for no reason.

Better than Tinder

Can I Save Chats On Tinder?

There’s no way to export or save any chats on Tinder. All of the conversations will remain on Tinder. This is important because if you’re looking to save anything anyone said, you’ll need to screenshot or take pictures of what they’re saying.

If you get someone’s phone number, but they delete you waiting for you to text them, it will be tough to retrieve that number because it will be gone forever.

The best advice is to screenshot or keep pictures of your chat if you need to save any information. There’s no way to export the chat or send the chat to anyone else.

In finding a spouse on dating apps, people often want to save conversations and export profiles. This is impossible, as the user can delete you, and all the information is erased.

When a user deletes you, everything is deleted, and it’s like you’ve never matched in the first place. As mentioned, if there’s any information you wish to keep, we recommend you screenshot everything you need.

Conclusion

Tinder chats will often disappear because either the user has deleted you from their match queue or you have accidentally deleted them. There is no instance where the chat just randomly deletes.

It’s important to know this because the other side is more than responsible for you not being matched anymore, not the Tinder platform. If you’re unsure of why you’ve been disconnected from a person you thought you had a good connection with, you can reach out to Tinder and find out.

However, it’s more than likely they just unmatched you. We’ve seen it happen for no reason, so it’s not uncommon for this to occur.

Have you had any experience with Tinder getting rid of your matches for no reason? How has it affected your love life? Let us know!

No Luck On Tinder?