Skip to Content

Can Tinder See When I’m Online & Typing?

Tinder has evolved over the years. It was simply a way for college students to meet each other on campus in their early years. It has since evolved into an online dating machine, helping people worldwide find love simply by swiping left and right.

Currently, Tinder does not show users when you’re online. However, they do have a small notification box to show when the other user is typing you’re in the chat.

Tinder’s features and capabilities are consistently changing as they work to improve their platform monthly and sometimes daily.

In this article, we will look at what the other user can see and what information tinder actually captures from the actions you do on Tinder.

Can Tinder See When I’m Online?

In 2017, Tinder used to have a feature, like most dating apps, which allowed the other users to see when you’re online. It would simply have a “last seen x amount of minutes ago” right below your picture in your profile.

This made it great if you really liked someone and were able to see when you appeared last online, thus making it more likely for you to continue talking to them.

It was also used for many poor purposes. The first one is that you were able to see if someone was ignoring you. If you saw someone was online 1 minute ago, and they didn’t answer your texts, there’s a good chance they were ignoring you. This angered a lot of users.

It was also used to see if someone you were dating that you had met off the app was using the app while you were dating. On every dating app relationship, there’s a 2-3 month window at the beginning where each person feels each other out to see if they deleted the app.

This was a tell-tale way to see if the other person was still active on Tinder while beginning a new relationship. It was a helpful tool but also a harmful tool.

Since then, Tinder has removed that feature. There is no current way for users on Tinder to see if you’re online. They have removed the feature and have not had anything even close to the feature since 2017.

Well, of course, update this blog if the feature ever comes back, but for now, there’s no way for Tinder to display if you’re online.

Check out our complete Tinder User Guide here.

Can Tinder See When I’m Typing?

Like iMessage, many mobile dating apps have adapted a feature where the other user can see if you’re typing. This is often signaled with a bubble that has three dots in it.

At the time of writing this article, users can see when you’re typing. It does, however, have a 5-second delay when you’re typing, but users can see Tinder’s version of the 3 dots when you start to type.

Typing bubble on Tinder : Tinder
via Reddit

Just like iMessage, users will see that you’re typing as soon as you enter a letter into the text bar. This will let the user know that you’re online and have attempted to type in characters.

This is the only way a user can know that you’re online and that you’ve attempted to send a message.

We highly recommend that you start typing to someone unless you know what you want to say. Anyone a bit obsessive will be waiting for these bubbles to show up, which is a dead giveaway that you’re online.

Only when you’re ready to send a message, start typing your message to the other Tinder user.

Can Tinder See When You Screenshot?

Snapchat has made the world more skeptical with their notifications that the other party has taken a screenshot. When all users attempt to take a screenshot, they will often balk at the attempt as they don’t know if the app lets the user know.

Tinder does not notify the user if you take a screenshot. This is a great thing because oftentimes, the best conversations come from Tinder, where you can share them with your friends.

The screenshot feature will not show the other user, whether it is a gross message from a creepy guy or want to show off how cute someone is to your friend.

We also want to caution you on the side of what you say, it can, and more than likely will be used against you if you decide to be creepy or gross. Too often see tinder users end up on popular social media accounts such as Tinder Nightmares or Tinder Convos.

If you’re reading this article, please be cautious in what you say and make sure that all conversation you send, it can, and more than likely will be screenshot and sent to a group chat of guys or girls.

Feel free to screenshot all you want with no repercussions, at least from Tinder notifying the other user.

Better than Tinder

Can Tinder See My Phone Number?

Tinder, although it asks you for your phone number when you sign up, does not actually display your phone number. They use your phone number for login and authentication purposes.

This phone number is not displayed publicly anywhere for anyone to see. One example of authentication is when you sign up, they will send you a code (oftentimes numbers) that must be entered for authentication.

Tinder users, your phone number of limiting the number of bots that appear on the app. One of the biggest complaints Tinder users had was that the bots and fake profiles were overwhelming, hurting the user’s experience.

By forcing a phone number instead of a social profile, it gives the same authentic experience and eliminates bots trying to mass sign up via fake emails.

Conclusion

Tinder, as of the time of writing this article, only notifies you when you received a message or a match. It does not notify the other users if you’re online or if you’ve screenshot a conversation.

If you have conversations that are interesting or funny, we’d love to hear about them! Let us know in the comment section below or send us an email at [email protected]

No Luck On Tinder?