Skip to Content

What Happens When The X Is Hit On Hinge

Hinge is unlike any other mobile dating app. Rather than the traditional thumb swipe to the left and right, it uses buttons to like or dislike profiles.

The X on Hinge is used to pass on a profile. Hitting the x will move to the next profile. The user you hit the x on will not be notified that you did not like them.

In this article, we’re going to show you what the x button does and why you can feel confident hitting it.

The X Button On Hinge

Apps like Bumble and Tinder use popular swipe features. A profile is displayed, and it’s up to you to swipe left or swipe right if you like the profile or not.

Hinge has completely changed the mechanics of swiping, while still using the popular “card stack” format.

Users are displayed profiles that include pictures, question prompts, and information about their personal life. Users are able to send a like to the user by hitting the heart button.

If they want to go to the next profile, the user will hit the x button in the bottom left corner. The X button is Hinge’s way of not liking profiles, and just moving on to the next person.

hit X on hinge

The reason why buttons are better than traditional swiping mechanics is because it slows down the users interaction time. It’s easy to look at the first picture and determine no or yes with a simple thumb swipe.

Hinge delivers so much information to the profile, using the buttons slow down the user’s interactions to bring more light to the pictures and question prompts.

This is important because hitting the x button isn’t a split-second decision, as the user is more likely to look through a profile rather than quickly hit the x button.

Looking more into the location of the x button, it’s stratigically placed. The bottom left and top left corners of a phone are the worst places to put a button. This is because the average phone user, uses their right hand when holding a phone.

Most people’s thumbs aren’t big enough to reach the x that’s located on the button left corner of the mobile app. This will naturally be uncomfortable for the user, therefore they are more likely to hit the like button. It’s a small tweak in the design that makes a big difference.

Does The User Get Notified If I Hit The X?

The user does not get notified if you hit the x on Hinge. The x is simply just a way to move to the next profile.

When you hit the x button, it is completely anonymous to the user who you hit the x on.

In addition, if a user likes your profile, and you don’t like theirs, you can hit the x on their profile to clear the notification. In this instance, the user will also not be notified that you hit the x button. Hinge treats this as if you just hit the x on a normal profile.

Can I Get A User Back After Hitting The X?

If you accidentally hit the x on someone on Hinge, there is a way to get the profile back. It’s called undo.

By shaking the phone or hitting the undo button, you’ll be able to bring back a profile that you accidentally hit the x button on.

It’s important to note, you will not be able to go back on a profile that you liked, only on profiles that you hit the X on.

We’ve done a complete breakdown of the undo button here, where you can find out exactly how it works.

Conclusion

The X button on Hinge is used as a way to move to the next profile. It replaces the left swipe that’s used on most traditional dating apps.

If you dislike a profile for whatever reason, simply hit the x button to move on to the next profile. The button mechanics are better for those who are fast swipers on other apps like Bumble and Tinder.

Hinge has decided to use these mechanics because it slows down the user interaction and makes the user actually move and tap their finger to make a decision.

First Messages & Opening Lines On Bumble
← Previous
If You Swipe Left On Tinder Are They Gone Forever?
Next →
Comments are closed.
No Luck On Tinder?