Bumble is a mobile dating app that matches users by age and distance. Both are shown at the bottom of the user’s profile. However, sometimes Bumble will not show the distance of the user.
Bumble does not show the distance of the user if they have put their profile into snooze mode. Snooze mode means they’re taking a break from Bumble and won’t receive any matches.
In this article, we will show you why Bumble only sometimes shows the distance and what it means.
Bumble Showing Distance Of Other Users
Bumble uses geolocation to show you users that are in your proximity. Geolocation is when the cellular service pinpoints your location and places it on a map.
From this point on the map, the user will adjust their criteria and distance range. Bumble will find all of the users in a distance radius, meaning the area around them.
From here, Bumble will check your age range and match all of the users that fit these criteria. Distance and area proximity play a major factor in determining how other users are found.
Pro Tip: My best friend met her husband on eHarmony after getting frustrated with Bumble. You can get a free trial of eHarmony by clicking here.
Bumble Not Showing Distance Of Other Users
There may be times that you come across profiles that don’t have a distance shown. There are a few reasons why their distances aren’t shown, both good and bad.
The User Is In Snooze Mode
One of the main reasons the distance of the other user isn’t shown is because that user is in snooze mode. As we wrote about here, Snooze mode is when the user decides to take a break from Bumble.
There are a few reasons that we’ve identified why users will take a break from online learning.
If online dating has become overwhelming, users will decide to take a small break swiping and matching. This is common for those getting too many matches to keep up with or users who aren’t getting any matches.
Too many matches can be overwhelming because Bumble forces the girl to open the conversation. If she has 99+ matches to respond to, it will be hard to go through all of the matches.
On the other hand, if a user isn’t’ getting any matches, they may put their profile into snooze mode.
Snooze mode allows users’ profiles to be still active, but they are not shown to others. This means you’re still able to send them messages, but they cannot match with anyone.
This mode also removes the distance from the user’s profile. As mentioned by Bumble here:
As they state, a location will not appear for a profile in snooze mode (for one you’ve already matched with).
User Is Away From Distance
If the user is away from the distance radius they’ve selected, the distance will not show up.
For instance, for those users that exceed the 99+ miles, their distance will not show up. Bumble cannot pinpoint the user’s location due to it being out of the location radius.
This may also be the case if the user is close to you. For instance, sometimes Bumble will show users that are “less than a mile away.” They may also show no distance if the user is in the same bar or club as you.
This is because Bumble cannot determine a location, so it will simply deliver nothing to the user’s profile.
User Hasn’t Opened The App In Several Days
Another reason, as Bumble notes, why the location won’t show up is because the user hasn’t opened the app in several days.
This is often the case for users that are traveling across the country.
Bumble will take the last location of the last time the app was opened. For example, if the user is in California for work, then goes home back to New York, their location will still be in California if that’s where they last opened it.
If the user is still talking to matches they met in California while still in New York, it will not provide an accurate location. This is why it will show up as no location for the user. Bumble is not able to determine a location near the user, and it will appear blank.
Distance and proximity are the basis of apps like Bumble. If the user is out of their location range, the app will show a distance but nothing to the user.
Last, the user may not have been active for a really long time. Often time single users will leave their Bumble running without properly deactivating it. Users may delete the app but not actually delete the profile.
This means the user will still be shown in the card stack to other users. If they’ve gone inactive but you have matched with them, there is a good chance their location may not be there.
Bumble will do this because they don’t want to serve inactive profiles to other users. If you’ve already matched with an inactive profile, there’s a good chance you may see the location missing.
Bumble will sometimes show distance, and other times it won’t if the user is out of range or on snooze mode. If the user exceeds past the 99+ miles threshold, no location will be available to track them.
Alternatively, if the user enables snooze mode, which puts the user’s profile on hold for other users to swipe on it, it will be sitting idle, as the user takes a break from Bumble.
This feature is common for people who are tired of using online dating apps or need a break from the messages and matches.
Location is an important part of mobile dating apps, as closer matches are easier to develop relationships with. Long-distance matches are harder to meet and see consistently.
If your match doesn’t have a location on their profile, as them if they’ve been idle recently or if they’ve moved out of state for whatever reason.