Skip to Content

If You Swipe Left On Tinder Are They Gone Forever?

Swiping left on Tinder is an easy task. Simply moving your thumb to the left will bring up the next profile almost instantly. Along the way, there’s a good chance you will accidentally swipe left on a match. Is there any way to get them back?

If you swipe left on Tinder, there is no way to get that profile back on the free version. Tinder Gold, however, allows users to hit the rewind button and show the profile you just swiped left on.

In this article, we’re going to show you all about swiping left and why you may want to slow down while using Tinder.

Swiping Left On Tinder

Tinder has completely revolutionized the dating world. Since its inception in 2012, then swipe left and swipe right mechanics have taken over how we date. Not only has meeting people from outside of our town been easier, but it’s also more effective to learn more about someone digitally.

Swiping left and right on Tinder is easy and fun. Its quick left and right process allow you to see up to 25 profiles a minute.

The danger to swiping so quickly (speed swiping) is there’s a good chance you’ll accidentally swipe left on someone.

swipe left on Tinder

This is why we recommend in our dating guide to slow down and actually take time to appreciate every profile you come across. Speed swiping is fun and addicting, but ultimately it can lead to missed profiles and matches.

Take time to read through each profile and bio that you come across. The only reason you should speed swipe to the left is when you know for a fact that the person’s profile you’re looking at is unattractive.

Unlike apps such as eHarmony & Match.com, users can get the core functionalities of Tinder simply by signing up. Swiping and messaging are part of these core functionalities.

However, rewinding to see the connection you just missed is not part of the core functionality if you miss a connection. Tinder treats this feature as a premium feature, and you must pay for Tinder Gold to access it.

Rewind To Bring Back Matches

Tinder Gold is Tinder’s premium subscription. As we wrote about here, the pricing is a little bit on the high end, but the features that come with it will be beneficial in the long run.

If you’re someone who is constantly missing matches due to the fact you speed swipe, Tinder Gold may make sense to purchase.

Tinder Gold has a feature called Rewind. Rewind lets users bring back missed connections by simply hitting the rewind button.

Rewind button on Tinder

The yellow rewind button must be hit immediately after your swipe is left on a profile. You will not be able to sort through all of the profiles you swiped left on. This feature works for recent profiles that you swiped left on to rewind and bring them back.

Tinder only allows a limited number of rewinds, so be sure to use them wisely.

See our complete User Guide to help you get the most out of Tinder here

Does The Other User Know If I Swipe Left On Them?

If you swipe left on a profile, Tinder does not alert the user that you have swiped left.

All left swipes are completely confidential, and the other profile will never know.

A user will be notified of an action taken on Tinder when you super like them or if both of your profiles match. The super like is notified by the blue star, and the match screen is this interstitial screen seen below.

Match screen on Tinder

Will You Ever See The Same Person Twice On Tinder?

Once a user swipes left on Tinder, they will not be seen again. However, there are a few things that you should note.

If you swipe left on a profile, that means that you will not see them again, but that doesn’t mean that they can’t see you. Tinder puts your profile in a card stack, and users will swipe left and right on it. If you swipe left on a profile, your profile may still be in their card stack.

Second, if you or the other person deletes the app and creates a new profile, the new profile will be shown again. Tinder doesn’t keep track of user’s phones and whose profile is who. They treat new profiles as if they’re a brand new user.

If you’re trying to avoid someone, as Tinder pulls all profiles from the radius and age range, they’ve set.

Better than Tinder

Conclusion

If you swipe left on Tinder, they are gone forever unless you use Tinder Rewind. Tinder Rewind is a feature that is in Tinder’s premium subscription called Tinder Gold.

Tinder Gold allows you to rewind to the most recent profile you swiped left on to bring it back. This will allow you to swipe right and bring back the profile you accidentally swiped left on.

We recommend you slow down your swiping and actually take time to look at the profiles. This will be more time-consuming, but it will prevent you from left swiping and having to recoup the profile.

Why Are My Tinder Photos Blurry? Tinder Photo Guide – Dating App World

Friday 20th of November 2020

[…] Tinder photos are shown to other users in what they call a card stack. This means that all of the profile pictures are zoomed in slightly, and displayed in a way that a user can swipe right or swipe left on, […]

Why Does Hinge Limit Likes? – Dating App World

Tuesday 17th of November 2020

[…] Thumb swiping is often quicker and careless than tapping a button. Users not only go through their likes quicker on apps like Tinder and Bumble, they often regret the swipes they did make. This results in more ghosting and wasted conversation. […]

What Does Boom Mean On Bumble? – Dating App World

Thursday 29th of October 2020

[…] is why a lot of similarities between Bumble and Tinder have been made. Most notably the swiping left and swiping right features that are present in both mobile dating […]

Comments are closed.
No Luck On Tinder?